Nigerian flag

List of All 20 Local Government Areas in Lagos State

This article provides information on the 20 Local Government Areas in Lagos State; Nigeria’s largest state and, as most people consider it, the commercial capital of Nigeria.

It is considered the largest state in Nigeria not because of its land mass, but because of the vast population of people that make up the state.

Lagos State covers a landmass of 3,577 km2, of which water (lagoons & creeks) make up 22%. Its landmass makes it in fact the smallest state in Nigeria by size. However, its population is above 22 million; in order words, 1/7th of the Nigerian populace live in its smallest state.

A lot of people are not really aware of the fact that Lagos State is divided into Local Government Areas (LGAs), maybe because of how closely packed all the locations within the state are.

The 20 Local Government Areas in Lagos State are:

  1. Agege
  2. Alimosho
  3. Apapa
  4. Ifako-Ijaye
  5. Ikeja
  6. Kosofe
  7. Mushin
  8. Oshodi-Isolo
  9. Shomolu
  10. Eti-Osa
  11. Lagos Island
  12. Lagos Mainland
  13. Surulere
  14. Ojo
  15. Ajeromi-Ifelodun
  16. Amuwo-Odofin
  17. Badagry
  18. Ikorodu
  19. Ibeju-Lekki
  20. Epe

The first 16 Local Government areas make up the city of Lagos. Other location, aside from being LGAs, are major cities or contain other major cities, which are: Lekki, Ikorodu, Eko Atlantic, Badagry, Epe, Ojo.

The capital of the State is located in Ikeja, which contains Nigeria’s renowned international airport. (Murtala Muhammed Airport).

What do you have to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to top