27 C
Sunday, February 28, 2021
- Advertisement -
Home ✔Nigerian Affairs List of all the 36 Nigerian States, Capitals, and Their Slogans

List of all the 36 Nigerian States, Capitals, and Their Slogans

Know the 36 states in Nigeria and their capitals. In addition, discover several interesting details and information surrounding those states, including their slogans and year of creation.

- Advertisement -

Nigeria got her independence on the 1st of October in 1960. But back then there were only three regions.

Over the course of time, those three regions were divided to create the 36 states currently in Nigeria.

We shared a brief history of the creation of Nigerian states in our previous article titled ‘how many states are in Nigeria now?‘, hence we won’t be going too deep into that.

Read also:

Without further ado, here are the states in Nigeria along with their capitals and slogans:

S/N State Capital Slogan Year of Creation
1 Abia Umuahia God’s own State 1991
2 Adamawa Yola Former slogan: Land of Beauty, Sunshine, and Hospitality
New Slogan: Highest peak of the nation
3 Akwa Ibom Uyo Land of promise 1987
4 Anambra Awka Former slogan: Home for all
New slogan: Light of the nation
5 Bauchi Bauchi Pearl of Tourism 1976
6 Bayelsa Yenagoa The Glory of All Lands 1996
7 Benue Makurdi Food basket of the Nation   1996
8 Borno Maiduguri Home of peace 1976
9 Cross River Calabar The people’s paradise 1967
10 Delta Asaba Former slogan: The Big Heart
New slogan: The Finger of God
11 Ebonyi Abakaliki The salt of the Nation 1996
12 Edo Benin City The Heart Beat of the Nation 1991
13 Ekiti Ado – Ekiti Former slogan: Fountain of Knowledge
New slogan: Land of honour and integrity
14 Enugu Enugu Coal City State 1991
15 Gombe Gombe Jewel in the Savannah 1996
16 Imo Owerri Old slogan: Land of Hope
New slogan: Eastern heartland
17 Jigawa Dutse The New World 1991
18 Kaduna Kaduna Former slogan: Liberal State
new slogan: Centre of learning
19 Kano Kano Centre of Commerce 1967
20 Katsina Katsina State of Hospitality 1987
21 Kebbi Birnin Kebbi Land of Equity 1991
22 Kogi Lokoja The Confluence State 1991
23 Kwara Ilorin The state of Harmony 1967
24 Lagos Ikeja Centre of Excellence 1967
25 Nasarawa Lafia The home of Solid Minerals 1996 
26 Niger Minna The power State 1976
27 Ogun Abeokuta The Gateway State 1976
28 Ondo Akure The sunshine State 1976
29 Osun Oshogbo Old slogan: State of living spring
New slogan: Land of virtue
30 Oyo Ibadan The pace setter State 1991
31 Plateau Jos Home of peace and tourism 1976
32 Rivers Port Harcourt Treasure base of the Nation 1967
33 Sokoto Sokoto Seat of the Caliphate 1976
34 Taraba Jalingo Nature’s gift to the Nation 1991
35 Yobe Damaturu Old slogan: The young shall grow
New slogan: Pride of the Sahel
36 Zamfara Gusau Old slogan: Home of Agricultural Products
New slogan: Farming is our pride

As noticeable from the table above, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) is not included, and that is because it is not really a state.

It is as a matter of fact a territory and the administrative capital of Nigeria; and is therefore not under the leadership of any state government, but directly under the presidency.

- Advertisement -


Please leave a comment below. However, for your comment to be approved, it must meet with our community guidelines. Views expressed below are those of their authors. Therefore, Neither NaijaHomeBased nor any of its employees can be held accountable.

- Advertisment -

just in